Structure of Assembly

Administrative setup

The District Assembly:
The Kadjebi District Assembly is responsible for the over all development of the District, and is the highest political and administrative authority according to PNDC law 207 and the Act 462. The Kadjebi District Assembly, is headed by the District Chief Executive. The District Assembly is composed of the Executive Committee chaired by the District Chief Executive.

This Committee serves as a linkage between the District Chief Executive and the five sub-.committees. The Sub-committees are as follows: –
*Development planning
*Social services
*Finance and Administration

Below the District Chief Executive, Administratively, is the District Co-ordinating Director (DCD) who performs administrative functions. Under him are the Decentralized Departments (Health, Agric, Education,Town and Country (Physical) Planning, Disaster Prevention, Social Welfare and Community Development and Works), Administration, Finance, District Planning & Co-ordinating Units.

The District Assembly is presided over by a Presiding member who is elected from the members of the Assembly by at least a two-thirds majority. The Kadjebi District Assembly is charged with the task of programme formulation, budget preparation and promotion of development activities within the Kadjebi District. It has 30 elected members from 30 electoral areas and 16 government appointees.

Sub Committees:
The sub-committees are saddled with the responsibility of deliberating on specific issues and submitting their recommendation to the Executive Committee, which in turn presents them to the District Assembly for ratification.

The Chairmen of the five (5) sub committees of the District Assembly are members of the Executive Committee. These sub committees are
i.    Finance and Administration
ii.   Development Planning
iii.  Social Services
iv.  Justice and Security
v.   Environmental Management
vi.  Works Sub-Committee

The following also exist to assist the development process: –
i.    District Water and Sanitation Management Committee
ii.    District Environmental Committee
iii.   District Disaster Management Committee
iv.   District Education Oversight Committee ’

District Planning Co-ordinating Unit:
There is a District Planning Co-ordinating Unit established to  provide a secretariat and advisory services to the executive  committee. It performs planning, programming and budgeting functions. This all-important technical wing of the District Assembly has only one Development Planner supported by a Budget Officer.

The District Administration consists of the following departments: –
i.    General Administration
ii.    Development Planning Co-ordinating Unit
iii.   Works Department
iv.   Finance Department

Development Institutions:
The developmental institutions in the District Assembly include seven-Nine (9) out of the stipulated eleven (11) Decentralized Department,Non Decentralized Department and Non Governmental organizations.

Decentralized Departments, which are presently in the District, include the following:-
i.    Education
ii.    Social Welfare
iii   Community Development
iv.   Health
v.    Ministry of Food and Agriculture
vi.   Department of Feeder Roads

The following are non-decentralized department in the district: –
i.    Ghana National Fire Service
ii.    Birth and Death Registry
iii.   Environmental Health Department
iv.   Department of Co-operatives                
v.    National Mobilization Programme            

The following departments oversee the District from Jasikan District:
i.    Forestry Department
ii.    Land Valuation Department
iii.   Audit Service
iv.   Town and Country Planning Department

Sub District Structures:
These represent the base structure of the local government system. Sub District structures in the Kadjebi District are: 
i.Town/Area Council
ii.Unit Committees
i. Town and Area Councils

The District has been zoned into 6 Town and Area Councils, however, only 5 are actively functional. These are: –
a.    Kadjebi Town Council
b.   Asato Area Council
c.    Ahamansu Area Council
d.   Dodo Area Council
e.    Dodi Area Council

The 6’ Area Council called Amanta, which comprises of Dapaa, Pampawie and Ampeyo has not been made functional because of the dispute over the sitting of its headquarters.  The early resolution of the misunderstanding will pave way for the development of the area.

Unit Committee:
There are about 78 unit committees in the District. They are however not well resourced and motivated to perform as expected.